"The Grunt"

The work of the grunt was unnoticed by the average American civilian, but for the soldier on the front line who witnessed life and death on a daily basis, he was respected and honored.

To the grunt, Vietnam was a never-ending succession of life threatening events. Besides living with the constant fear of death, grunts had to endure a host of miseries: firefights, incoming, body bags, boredom, moaning and groaning.

Humping one to two clicks a day through a sun-scorched jungle, wearing an eighty plus pound ruck sack containing C-Rations, LRPS (long range patrol food), water, claymore, machine gun ammo, light infantry tank weapon (LAW) and personal belongings, and carrying a weapon and wearing a steel pot in brain-scorching heat was no party. 

But neither was enduring torrential monsoon rains, boot-sucking red clay mud, intense humidity, dehydration, heat exhaustion, sunburn, steaming hot jungles, malaria, dysentery, wait-a-minute vines, and jungle rot. 

Then there were the blood-sucking leeches, poisonous spiders, gigantic poisonous centipedes, malaria ridden mosquitoes, fire flies, bush snakes, bamboo pit vipers, scorpions, rats, fire ants, fuck you lizards, re-up frogs, and a thousand other discomforts.

Despite all this the grunt did his job well.

Home | VungTau Village | Coming Home | The Grunt

Kern County Vietnam War Memorial

For those who served in Vietnam and gave the ultimate sacrifice. You are never forgotton.


Clayton A. Fannin


Larry S. Pierce ∙ Harry E. Thomas M.I.A. ∙ Edward Jourjon-Roche ∙ Paul E. Rytter


Ernesto Dominguez ∙ Larry J. Cox ∙ Lantham O. Broyles ∙ Michael T. Faust ∙ Billy G. Fry ∙ Ronald J. Kinkeade ∙ Ralph L. Keeler ∙ Danny J. McGriff ∙ Chester L. O’Brien Jr. ∙ Donald E. Gore ∙ Bennie F. Parker ∙ Bobby R. Holley ∙ John W. Perich ∙ Clyde M. Ridgway ∙ Dennis P. Wright ∙ Tommy Jones ∙ James B. Mills (M.I.A.) Mark Corrie Frazwe ∙ George Woodall ∙ Caspar M. Walsh III ∙ Raymond W. Wilson


Roger E. Dalrymple ∙ Alvin R. Bozarth ∙ Donald V. Lawson Jr. ∙ Ronny L. Palmer ∙ Robert J. Calvillo ∙ Thomas P. Brady ∙ Ronald B. Mos ∙ Phillip G. Cantrell ∙ Baldomero A. Nadal ∙ Myron D. Lucas ∙ Albert Graham Jr. ∙ Jerry W. Manning ∙ Jim E. Moshier (M.I.A.) ∙ Luther T. Stowe ∙ Delbert C. Totty ∙ Larry J. Martin ∙ Roger C. Mitchell ∙ Ronald D. Reyes ∙ Steven D. Chambers ∙ James E. Brown ∙ Brent A. Holte ∙ Daniel Tramell ∙ Eric M. Dewey ∙ Thomas Soliz ∙ Walter Blalock


Timothy J. Rizzardini ∙ Richard L. Hatch ∙ Robert B. Ray ∙ George M. Wisham Jr. ∙ William T. Anderson Jr. ∙ Richard L. Vines ∙ Robert G. Washburn ∙ Charles C. Crow ∙ William R. Youngblood ∙ Terry D. Pitts ∙ Gilbert L. Mitchell (M.I.A.) ∙ Winford R. Crabb ∙ Ralph E. Foulks Jr. ∙ James B. Howard ∙ Ferdinand O. Barger Jr. ∙ Donald L. Perry ∙ Henry F. Asuncion ∙ Richard A. Gonzalez ∙ Randolph R. Jones ∙ Donald W. Morris ∙ Gerald G. McGinley ∙ Ernest F. Davidove ∙ Larrie J. Gotcher ∙ Gerald L. Johnson ∙ Larry R. Johnson ∙ Terrece E. Edgar ∙ William E. Stone ∙ Manuel Casares ∙ Robert W. Benson ∙ Henry C. Knight ∙ Romero M. Mora ∙ Joe A. Miranda ∙ Patrick O. Ford ∙ Frank A. Oster ∙ Dennis E. Dyer ∙ Gene K. Ross ∙ Alan R. Duke ∙ Lonnie J. Gay ∙ Ramiro M. Mora


Francisco Villanueva Jr. ∙ Paul Wilson ∙ Leonard L. Alvarado ∙ Michael W. North ∙ Clement Valencia Jr. ∙ Ronald R. Beaman ∙ Christopher C. Webster ∙ Robert L. ∙ Kenneth P. Johnson ∙ Stephen L. Ragsdale ∙ John H. Gordon ∙ Miquel Heredia ∙ Robert A. Banks ∙ Amado Valencia ∙ John S. Pinney ∙ Joey L. Boles ∙ Larry W. Smith ∙ Louis Rodriguez ∙ Calvin G. Hunt ∙ John R. Taylor ∙ Jerry Gore ∙ Melvin Conner Jr. ∙ John T. Baker


Leroy E. Halbert Jr. ∙ Jonny J. Gallardo ∙ John H. Pohlman ∙ Raymond H. Apellido ∙ Ramon A. Hernandez ∙ Arnold G. Garza ∙ Jimmy Carrillo ∙ Jimmy C. Montana ∙ Douglas E. Hobbs ∙ Larry W. Rasey ∙ Frank M. Baca ∙ Steven R. Sandlin ∙ Atilano U. Tovar ∙ Jesse G. Juarez ∙ Gary L. Giles ∙ Robert P. Cote ∙ Jonny F. Roach ∙ Donald B. Smith ∙ John A. Marr


Dennis R. Watterson ∙ Carl Nacca Jr. ∙ John W. McLemore Jr. ∙ Stephen Chavira (M.I.A.) ∙ Mickey E. Eveland ∙ Kenneth H. Jones ∙ Edward J. Lopez ∙ Jose A. Sanchez ∙ Noel B. Witmer ∙ Alan S. Goff


Oscar Herrgesell